Skip to content

Charlie and Lola books are THE WORK OF THE DEVIL

July 27, 2011

Love All Blogs / Mammasaurus

charlie-and-lola

Charlie and Lola – I completely, utterly love the TV progs but the books are THE WORK OF THE DEVIL

After all my ramblings over Satans Spawn Baby Jake I fear that maybe I am getting a bit of a reputation as a kids telly Grinch. But yes even the Mammasaurus has a soft side – I love Charlie and Lola on the TV, charming stories, gorgeous design and endearing characters (no really I actually do love it – no cynical bits to add). It’s one of the few programs that I can say that I enjoy watching on CBeebies, it seems to appeal to young and older alike.

Imagine my delight then when at the local library a couple of weeks back coming across a couple Charlie and Lola books – ‘My Wobbly Tooth Must Not ever Never Fall Out’ and ‘I’m Really Ever So Not Well’. The inner smug-bastard in me was rubbing hands together in glee at the thought of a bedtime book that I’d quite like to read to Bean. Bean is notorious at taking 30 books from the library every 2 weeks and making me read the same 3 over and over again every night for those weeks until I am utterly fed up of them and losing the will to live. But Charlie and Lola I thought would make a nice change – right? WRONG!

OMG (as the kidz say these days) what a bloody nightmare they are to read! Tell me someone that it’s not just me who feels like this towards these books?! Ok ok ok I’ve taken a deep breath,wooo-sahhh.

I appreciate if you have never read a Charlie and Lola book then you have not got a clue what my beef is so I shall write the rest of this short article in the Charlie and Lola style…

“Who’s reading to Bean tonight?” Hubby says

And then I have a really extremely very good idea. “Hubby” I say “I have the most fantastical utterly brilliant idea ever in the whole wide world”

“What is it?” hubby says

And then I say “Well lets imagine that the books are flying rainbow colour elephants and we are going to ride on them!”

“Ride on them?” hubbys says

And then I say “Yes hubby, we must totally and absolutely ride on the flying elephant books and drink pink milk!”

And then hubby says “That is a fantastical idea mummy, I must never ever forget what a splendid mummy you are”

Ok ok you get the jist – there ends my somewhat peculiar rant.

You’ll either totally ‘get it’ or you’ll think I’ve lost the plot.

Tell me it’s not just me ?!

22 Comments

Post a comment
  1. October 20, 2011

    They can’t be as bad as the Waybaloo books – now they’re PROPER gibberish! x

  2. September 5, 2011

    Well!! Today I will mostly be looking for Charlie and Lola books so I can find out what all this ranting is about! Oliver & I LOVE Charlie and Lola – as an adult, I echo what a couple of people have said – I actually, really and totally enjoy watching the programme. That Lola is hilarious.

    If you want horrific, Way(bloody silly)balou and In The Night Garden are so bad they make me want to scream……..ISN’T THAT A PIP! (grrrrrrrrrrr)

    xxx

  3. August 16, 2011

    I once tried to read a Charlie and Lola book in a way I thought the kids would understand ie. like a normal book. We all got very confused! xx

  4. July 31, 2011

    PS. This mother of boys says, yay to never having to read Rainbow Fairies. Whatever they are.

  5. July 31, 2011

    @Angelsandurchinsblog Quite right, or the Mr Men!

  6. July 31, 2011

    I think actually that it’s the ever so quirky and funny way they are written that is what I like. Truly and really. My children do speak like Lola, though perhaps that’s because they’ve been read the books? This post rings so true; I have friends who loathe C&L (‘whose children get on that well?’ ‘Can’t stand the terrible grammar’ ‘Don’t like standing on my head to read the book’) and others who, like me, love them. Just don’t get me started on the purgatory of reading Thomas the blimming Tank Engine.

  7. July 28, 2011

    I completely agree – they are just gibberish and not even gibberish in a Dr Seuss language development type way

    Have mislaid our one with an extremely biggish elephant in it

  8. July 28, 2011

    Helen, practice her reading every day as fast as possible. Then she can read alone. It it the only solution to the mind-numbing hell of Rainbow Fairies!
    Mammasaurus, I so totally completely get what you are on about. But Charlie and Lola books are actually really the most funniest books in the whole entire universe. And I will not ever never change my mind! ;)
    (Oh dear, I’m a clone)

  9. July 27, 2011

    there is nothing, nothing, nothing as bad as the rainbow fairies books for me; same plot ever time, but my daughter loves them…heeeellllppppp!

  10. Caryl hart #
    July 27, 2011

    Sorry, but I Love Charlie & Lola!! The books you mention aren’t actually written by Lauren Child, but by the tv production company. As far as tv spin offs go, I think these are pretty well written. I’ll read them to your son if you like!
    Alternatively, see if he likes any of mine!
    Caryl

  11. Sarah W #
    July 27, 2011

    Sorry but we all love Charlie and Lola books in our house – we have loads of them! We do have lots of other books too but sometimes we have a “theme weeks” so its possible to have 7 nights of C&L books. Both hubby and I love to do the voices, the girls take it in turns to “read” the first page (I have this little sister Lola, she is small and very funny……..). BTW the girls are 2.5yrs and 4yrs and avid C&L fans. Their room is a shrine to C&L in a tasteful way (stick ons on the wall, duvets, bean bag, soft toys). In fact if it wasn’t for I Will Not Never Ever Eat a Tomato we would probably struggle to get a lot of food into them – we love making up words for what we’re eating if they are refusing it!!!!! Sorry! Have to add though, the lady in the library hates them, thinks they teach appalling language skills which I disagree with as both my girls know that it’s just “Lola talk”!

  12. July 27, 2011

    hahaha. As I now know the general stroylines of our C anf L books I just tell the pictures. 2yo doesn’t mind – she’s too busy pointing out the wallpaper prints on everything and saying “same”. It does slow things down a bit when we have to then search the other books for the same design. But quite satisfying when we find it. I love the TV shows though.

  13. July 27, 2011

    Goggy-gi-ya, goggy-gi-ya…I actually love the Charlie & Lola books. I like the random, rambliness (I made that up, I did). Please don’t hate me!;)

    It’s time for an adventure…. mwah-ha-ha-ha-ha!
    :) Karin

  14. July 27, 2011

    I don’t mind C & L. It’s those Bloody Dora books that drive me mad!

  15. RJ #
    July 27, 2011

    I was having a really good day and then you mentioned Baby Jake. And what’s in my head now? Goggy gi ya. That’s what’s in my head.

    Yours,

    Sulky of Yorkshire.

  16. July 27, 2011

    Well, I am a huge Charlie and Lola fan, Love the show, and we have one of the books. It’s like 4 or 5 stories squished into one book and is printed fairly ‘normal’. Anyway, during the school holidays we went to the library and my 7 yr old daughter picked up one of the books declaring how much she used to love the show. So I said, “read it to your sister”. The next thing I know she is turning circles mid library, flipping the book everywhere and declaring that the book was printed “funny” and “it’s too bloody hard to hold it mum”. So there you go, on behalf of my 7yr old daughter Aria, you are not alone. :-)

  17. July 27, 2011

    Oh not just you! The book lack any substance, proper structure, proper ending etc! Not sure which came first (I presume the books) but the tv series is streets ahead. Even if it does make my daughter talk nonsense …

  18. July 27, 2011

    Oh my goodness. You’re so going to throw a sparkly paisley-printed cup of pink milk at me when I say, I actually secretly delight in reading them ever so much. I think I actually enjoy them more than my daughters do. I go so far as to put on the accents too. I’m a pretty darn good Lola, and an ok Charlie. Soren Lorensen is pretty freaky though. He looks like a dead Sixth-Sense type Charlie, creepy. Ok, my confession is out there for all of cyber-space to see. I’m ready for your rotten tomatoes.

  19. July 27, 2011

    My two love Charlie and Lola too, and have all the books so completely ‘get’ what you are on about!
    From ‘I will not ever never eat a tomato’ to I promise I absolutely will look after your dog’ (or whatever it’s called) they’re a bloody nightmare to read!
    All the twisting and turning and looping the loop words do my head in the most! The author must have been like ‘I know, let’s fantastically absolutely make mummy and daddy have to tip the book upside down/on it’s side just to read some of the words! :-)

    • July 27, 2011

      Oh thank god I thought I was going mad for a bit there. And some of the words are in bold or italic just at random – and I keep on reading the sentences emphasising words that make NO SENSE ! ARGH !

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Damn you Peppa Pig ! *waves bacon butty with rage* | mammasaurus

Leave a comment and make my day !

